脐带血常见问与答

脐带血干细胞

脐带血是什么?为何如此珍贵?

脐带血是婴儿出生之后,留在脐带和胎盘内的血液。除非您预先选择了储存宝宝的脐带血,否则这些血液内所含的珍贵干细胞就会随着脐带和胎盘成为医疗废弃物。脐带血之所以珍贵,是因为里面含有丰富的、极具医疗价值的干细胞。集取宝宝的脐带血的机会,一生只有一次,那就是宝宝出生时。妥善保存这些干细胞,日后孩子本身或家人在万一需要时,这些干细胞便可以用来治病。

干细胞是什么?

干细胞是尚在发育初始阶段的细胞,具有分化、再生为人体各种细胞的能力,因此极具医疗价值。

干细胞在医学上为何如此重要?

干细胞目前已用于治疗50种以上的致命疾病,包括多种癌症和遗传性疾病。婴儿的脐带血中,含有丰富的干细胞。妥善保存好脐带血,将来孩子若不幸出现这些疾病,脐带血就可以用来治病和救命。

万一将来您的孩子需要干细胞移植,他(她)自己的干细胞会是最完美的配对,不必另寻骨髓捐赠者。否则,要找到能配对的骨髓捐赠人已是困难重重的事,而即使找到了,移植后也仍有出现排斥的可能。现在为您的孩子储存他(她)自己的干细胞,您所保存下来的,不止是珍贵的脐带血干细胞,更是孩子一生的健康。

干细胞可用于治疗哪些疾病?

干细胞是尚在初始阶段的细胞,具有成长为各类不同型态细胞的潜能。医学界已使用干细胞来治疗许多疾病,包括多种癌症和遗传性疾病

脐带血干细胞和其他来源的干细胞有何不同?

孩子自己的脐带血干细胞,是万一将来他(她)需要干细胞移植时是最完美的配对。而集取脐带血远比集取捐赠者的骨髓安全又有效。经过妥善处理与保存,脐带血干细胞即可随时备用,移植后产生排斥的机会极低。同时,脐带血干细胞不只是宝宝本身的完美配对,与宝宝的兄弟姊妹的配对机会也相当高,甚至很有机会能为父母或祖父母所用。

干细胞在未来医学上将扮演何种角色?

干细胞目前已用于治疗50种以上的致命疾病,包括多种癌症、免疫系统疾病和遗传性疾病。随着科技的进步,干细胞治疗的范围也可望随之扩展,未来的价值无可限量。目前有关干细胞治疗的研究,已进展到心脏病、脊髓损伤、中风、糖尿病和肌肉萎缩症等领域。

何谓移植物对抗宿主病 (Graft versus Host Disease)? 为什么储存脐带血可以避免此病?

「移植物对抗宿主病」 是移植骨髓之后所可能发生的排斥现象。储存孩子的脐带血可以避免此病,因为是孩子自己的脐带血,并不是由别人捐赠而来,因此会是他(她) 自身最完美的配对,移植成功的机会也因此大幅提升。

为什么要选择储存孩子的脐带血干细胞?

孩子的脐带血干细胞只有在孩子出生时能集取得到。若选择了储存孩子的脐带血干细胞,您等于为自己选择了一份安心的感觉,因为您知道这些珍贵的细胞已得到完善的保存,随时为将来孩子自身或家人的不时之需待命。如果不选择留下脐带血,里面珍贵的干细胞在孩子出生后便成为废弃物。而如果您保存了孩子的脐带血,其目前已知的医疗价值,以及未来可能研发出的更多用途,便都在您的掌握之中。

什么时候是集​​取脐带血的恰当时机?

您的宝宝出生之后,立即由医生集取脐带和胎盘内的血。

脐带血如何收集?

孩子出生后,医生会剪断脐带,将脐带和胎盘内的血集中在特制的集血袋内。这些集血袋和为有效收集脐带血所须的一切用具,都包含在「康脐集血锦囊」里。脐带血集妥后,医生会将集血袋放进特制的康脐保护盒,送到康脐处理与保存。

什么是人类白血球组织抗原 (HLA) 分型配对?

人类白血球组织抗原(Human Leukocyte Antigen) 分型配对法,是用来为捐赠人和受赠人配对的检验法,以求尽量降低植入之骨髓细胞遭排斥的可能。若您保存了孩子的脐带血,您就等于解除了孩子与捐赠者的HLA分型不相容的危机。因为孩子自己的干细胞永远都是他(她)自身最完美的配对型。在重要的第一时间保存孩子的脐带血,让孩子一生的健康得到保障。

宝宝的脐带血干细胞可以供兄弟姊妹或其他家人所用吗?

宝宝的脐带血干细胞能由兄弟姊妹或其他家人所用的机会非常高。孩子的脐带血干细胞自然是他(她)自身最完美的配对,但与家中其他成员的配对相容机会也相当大,通常和兄弟姊妹之一能配对成功的机会可达25%,与父母或祖父母配对相容的机率也很高。

是否每个人都应该储存脐带血?

孩子或任何一位家庭成员在未来的日子里,都有可能罹患需要干细胞治疗的疾病或癌症。储存孩子的脐带血是防患于未然,是取得一份安心、一种安全感。因为我们知道孩子的脐带血已获安全妥善的保存,是孩子最完美的配对,且随时待命以备不时之需。

谁有权利使用脐带血?

孩子的脐带血是为您的家庭而储存,在孩子未成年之前,您对如何使用这份脐带血有完全的决定权。孩子成年之后,这些干细胞便转为属于孩子所有,他(她)对这些干细胞的使用和储存有完全的决定权。

储存孩子自己的干细胞有何好处?

万一将来您的孩子需要干细胞移植,要找到能完美配对的骨髓捐赠人,是困难重重、甚至几乎是不可能的事。只有孩子自己的干细胞,是最完美的配对,不必担心发生排斥现象。为您的孩子储存他(她)自己的干细胞,等于是为他(她)将来万一需要移植骨髓时,先存好一份拥有完美配对的干细胞,不必害怕会发生排斥,也不用担心无法及时找到能配对的捐赠人。

集取脐带血

脐带血于何时集取?

在宝宝出生、脐带剪断之后,立即集取脐带血。

脐带血如何收集?

孩子出生后,医生会剪断并钳住脐带,然后以针筒和集血袋将脐带和胎盘内的血采集出来。

医生会知道如何集取脐带血吗?

集取脐带血的程续安全又简单,只需要几分钟即可完成。大部分医生在这方面都有娴熟的技术。但即使您的医生对此不甚熟悉,在我们的「康脐集血锦囊」内附有完整详细的说明,您的医生也可以随时直接与康脐联系洽询。

康脐为何使用密闭式集血袋?

密闭式集血袋是最新的脐带血集血方式,也是最好的集血方式,较旧法能集取到更多的脐带血,且在集取过程中更能确保脐带血不受污染。康脐已全面采用密闭式集血袋的集血方式。

需要多少脐带血才能确保有足够的干细胞可供未来治疗之用?

康脐建议脐带血的集取量应在115公克至250公克之间。如果医生未能集取到115公克,康脐会通知客户,并讨论因应的办法。康脐实验室拥有最尖端的仪器设备,脐带血样本一经送达康脐,即进行所有的CD34+细胞分析,以确认样本中的干细胞含量。如果干细胞浓度相当高,则脐带血量的多少即不成问题。同时,随着科技的进步,将来的科学家可能有能力使干细胞的数量提高,因此集取到的脐带血量对未来的治疗,或许并不是一个很重要的因素。

集血过程对宝宝或母亲是否安全?

脐带血是在宝宝已出生、脐带已剪断之后才集取,因此集血过程中,宝宝和母亲都绝对安全。

如果采剖腹生产,该如何处理?

即使是剖腹生产,也一样可以集取脐带血,对宝宝和母亲的健康安全不会有任何影响。不论为自然生产或剖腹生产,「康脐集血锦囊」内都附有完整的集血程序说明和器材。

运送脐带血

如果我不住在加拿大,怎么办?

不论客户是否住在加拿大,康脐都能有效为您处理和储存脐带血。

如何将我的宝宝的脐带血送到康脐?

如果您住在低陆平原或大温地区,您可以请快递公司或家人将脐带血直接送到康脐位于温哥华的实验室。如果您住在低陆平原以外的地区,请依照「康脐集血锦囊」内的说明,请快递公司将脐带血送交康脐。康脐收到宝宝的脐带血后,会立即通知您。

康脐会通知我收到宝宝的脐带血吗?

会。您的宝宝的脐带血一经送达康脐,我们的客户服务人员会立即通知您。康脐会寄发正式的脐带血报告和证书给您,详细说明宝宝脐带血的各项检测结果,以及脐带血内干细胞的数量和其储存情况。

处理和储存

康脐会检测哪些传染病和疾病?

康脐会为母亲的血液样本做所有加拿大卫生部规定的传染病检测,并进一步为宝宝的脐带血做同样的检测,以确保脐带血样本的品质。检测的传染病包括:

  • anti-HIV1/2
  • Anti_HTLV
  • HbsAg
  • anti-HBc
  • anti_HCV
  • syphilis
  • CMV

康脐是否接受从其他血库转存的脐带血?

是,康脐可以接受将目前存放在其他血库的脐带血转存到康脐。请直接向康脐洽询转存办法。

康脐收到脐带血之后,会如何处理?

康脐收到脐带血之后,会立即为长​​期储存做各种必要的处理,如萃取干细胞、移除血浆及红血球、脐带血样本的疾病检测、母亲血液样本的传染病检测等,再经精密监控的温度缓降后,开始长期储放。

我会收到康脐的证书,证实我的孩子的脐带血已成功进入妥善的长期储存吗?

会。您孩子的脐带血成功进入长期储存阶段后,我们的客户服务人员会立即通知您。同时,您会收到一份宝宝脐带血成功储存的证书,这份证书也将载明干细胞的数量与储存情况。

集取之后,干细胞的活性能维持多久?

集取之后,干细胞的活性能在室温下维持48小时。康脐需要大约4小时来做长期储存之前的各项处理,因此宝宝的脐带血必须在集取之后的44小时内送抵康脐。

康脐的流程何以能如此简捷?

严格的品管系统和顶级的尖端设备,奠定了康脐在冷存科技界的领导地位。设备齐全的实验室,使康脐能独力完成所有重要的检测与处理流程。由于完全无需假手他人,因此能以最高标准的品质控制,在每一个环节做最快速、最有效的处理。康脐是由一群优秀的专业博士所创建和领导,在加西血库界享负盛名。康脐的优秀与用心,保证让您安心。

脐带血可以有效储存多久?

经研究证明,干细胞在精密监控的低温储存15年后,仍具活性。而依半衰期理论推断,干细胞活性的冷存期限可与人的寿命同长。

干细胞存在血库安全吗?

康脐的冷存设备先进齐全。实验室有严密的保全系统,冷存设备也有全天候的品质监控与安全监控。紧急供电系统随时待命。康脐严苛的品质管理与保安规定,已超越美国血库协会(AABB) 所订的标准,以确保您孩子的脐带血安全无虞。

万一我搬家了,怎么办?

您如果搬了家,请务必通知康脐更新您的联络资料。不论您搬到哪里,即使是飘洋过海,康脐都会为您妥善保存您的脐带血,并且在您需要时,立即交到您手上。

使用脐带血

万一我的孩子将来有需要,我们该如何取回脐带血?

任何时候,只要您提出要求,连同医生证明,即可取回储存在康脐的脐带血。在需要使用脐带血做移植或治病时,无论您在世界的任何角落,康脐都会以全程严密控制的高品质运送方式,将活性十足、随时可用的脐带血送到您手上。

取回宝宝的干细胞需要收费吗?

在您取回宝宝的干细胞时,除运费外,康脐不会收取费用。

与康脐注册

我应何时与康脐注册?

您怀孕之后随时都可以向康脐登记注册。不过为安全起见,建议您最好至少在预产期之前的几个月先完成注册,以免万一早产时不及准备。您向康脐注册登记之后,会在48小时内收到一份「康脐集血锦囊」。这份锦囊里包含了所有您会用到的器材与说明,分娩时务必记得带去医院。

我该在什么时候向康脐登记注册?

向康脐登记注册的手续非常简便,请选择以下任何一种方式:

储存孩子的脐带血需要多少费用?

康脐提供一系列的付款计画及付费方法,满足不同家庭的需要。请按此浏览付款计画。

如果我将会有多胞胎(如双胞胎),怎么办?

康脐可同时为多于一位小孩储存脐带血。

我可否计画在将来为其他小孩储存脐带血?这样需要吗?

当然,如果每位小孩均拥有自己的脐带血,这样最为安全。万一将来您的孩子需要干细胞移植,他(她)自己的干细胞必然是最完美的配对,不必另寻骨髓捐赠者。

Healthcord CryogenicsClose

FAQs

Cord Blood – Science & Medicine

What is cord blood and why is it valuable?

Cord blood is the blood remaining in the umbilical cord and placenta after birth, and contains rare stem cells that have many potential medical applications.  Click here to learn more about cord blood and how it can help to protect the future health of your family.

What are stem cells?

Stem cells are ‘master’ cells from which all other cells, tissues, and organs in the body are derived. Although present in large quantities in the developing fetus, stem cells begin to diminish soon after birth. There are almost no circulating stem cells in adult blood. Cord blood is the only non-invasive method of collecting early stage fetal and embryonic stem cells from an individual.

Why are stem cells medically important?

Scientists have harnessed the ability of stem cells to turn into any other cell type in the body to replace damaged or missing cells, an approach that is collectively referred to as “cell therapy”. To date, over 50 life-threatening diseases, including cancers and genetic disorders have been treated with stem cells, with many additional diseases being researched.  Click here to learn more about stem cell applications and how they can help your child in the future.

What types of diseases can be treated with stem cells are use stem cells as part of the treatment?

Stem cells are early stage cells which have the capability of differentiating into many different cell types. Stem cells have been used in the treatment of numerous diseases, including cancers and genetic disorders.

How does cord blood stem cells compare to other sources of stem cells?

Cord blood stem cells from your baby will be a perfect match to him/her when it is needed. Harvesting of cord blood is safer and more efficient than harvesting bone marrow from a donor. Once banked, it will become readily available whenever needed, with little or no chance of rejection. Furthermore, cord blood stem cells are not only a perfect match to your baby, but it has an increased probability of a match for the baby’s siblings and can potentially be used for the baby’s parents or grandparents.

What role will stem cells play in the future of medicine?

At the moment, stem cells are used in the treatment of over 50 cancers, immune disorders, and genetic disorders. As technology progresses, it is likely that the field of stem cells therapy will become more advanced, and the future uses of stem cells can be limitless. Research in stem cell therapy include usage for treatment of heart diseases, spinal cord damage, stroke, diabetes, and muscular dystrophy.

What is Graft versus Host Disease and how does cord blood banking prevent this?

Graft versus Host Disease is a disease which can occur after a bone marrow transplant. By banking a child’s cord blood, this disease is prevented because the cord blood is a perfect match to your child and is not donated from a different individual. This will increase the survival rate of the recipient and ensure a greater chance that the transplant will be successful.

Why choose to store your child’s cord blood stem cells?

Your child’s cord blood stem cells are only present during birth. By choosing to save your child’s cord blood stem cells, you will have the peace of mind that these precious cells are preserved and readily available in the event that your child or another family member needs them in the future. If the cord blood stem cells are not banked, these precious cells will be discarded after birth. By banking your child’s cord blood, you will be able to take advantege of the medical treatments that are currently available using stem cells as well as emerging stem cells treatments that will become available in the future.

At what time is the cord blood collected?

Cord blood is collected by your physician from the umbilical cord and placenta immediately after the birth of your child.

How is the cord blood collected?

After your child is born, the physician will cut the umbilical cord. Your physician will collect the cord blood from the umbilical cord and placenta using special blood bags. The blood bags and all necessary supplies for proper cord blood collection is provided in Healthcord’s Cord Blood Collection Kit. After the cord blood is collected, your physician will package it in the Healthcord Cord Blood Kit for delivery to Healthcord for processing and banking.

What is HLA matching?

HLA matching is used to ensure that there is a match between a donor and recipient to prevent the chance of rejection of the donated cells. If you choose to bank your child’s cord blood, you will eliminate the possibility that the donated stem cells are not HLA matched to your child. Stem cells from your child will always be a perfect match to you child. By banking your child’s cord blood, your child’s own stem cells will be ready for use at all times during the lifetime of your child.

Can my child’s cord blood stem cells be used for siblings or other family members?

There is a high probability that your child’s cord blood stem cells can be used for siblings and other family members. Your child’s cord blood stem cells will be a perfect match to your child. However, it may also be very useful for other members of your family. There is a 25% chance that your child’s cord blood can be used for one of his/her siblings, and there is also a high chance that your child’s cord blood stem cells can be used for parents or grandparents.

My mother (or father, etc.) is sick; can my child’s cord blood save her?

Cord blood is intended to be used for the donor child and in some cases, the sibling of the child. While the odds of a tissue type match to a grandparent, uncle, aunt, cousin, or any other second degree relative is greater than a random match in the population, the probability is still low. Therefore it is not advisable to store cord blood for that reason alone.

Should everyone store cord blood?

There is always a chance that a child or other family member may develop an illness or cancer which will require stem cell therapy. Banking a child’s cord blood is a preventative measure for peace of mind and security. Once your child’s precious cord blood stem cells are banked, they are safe, they are a perfect match to your child, and they are ready for immediate use upon request in the event that the stem cells are ever required.

Who has the right to use the cord blood?

Your child’s cord blood is reserved for your family’s use, and you have full control over its usage while your child is a minor. Once your child reaches the age of majority, the stem cells belong to your child, and you child will have full control over the use and storage of the stem cells.

Why is it beneficial for my child to have his/her own stem cells for future use?

In the event that your child ever requires stem cells, it is often difficult or even impossible to find a perfect match from a bone marrow donor or the umbilical cord blood from another donor. Your child’s own stem cells are a perfect match to your child with no chance of rejection. By banking your child’s cord blood, you are ensuring that your child will have a supply of his/her own stem cells which are a perfect match to himself/herself which can be used for transplantation and therapy without fear of rejection or the inability to find a matching donor in time to treat the disease.

Cord Blood Banking – Before Delivery

When is the cord blood collected?

The cord blood is collected immediately after the birth of your child and after the umbilical cord is cut.

How is cord blood collected?

After the child is born, the umbilical cord is cut and clamped, and the cord blood is collected from the umbilical cord and placenta using a needle and blood bag.

Will the physician know how to collect the cord blood?

The cord blood collection procedure is safe and very simple and only takes a few minutes to complete. Most physicians are familiar with cord blood collection, but in the event that your physician is not familiar, a complete protocol is included in the Healthcord Cord Blood Collection Kit. If your physician has any questions, he or she is able to contact Healthcord directly at any time.

Why does Healthcord use the closed blood bag technique to collect cord blood?

The closed blood bag technique is the latest method of cord blood collection, and it is the method of choice because it is sterile and efficient compared to older techniques. Healthcord has implemented the closed blood bag technique for all collections.

How much cord blood is required to ensure that there are enough stem cells for treatment?

Healthcord recommends that 115g to 250g of cord blood be collected. In the event that the physician is unable to collect 115g, Healthcord will inform the client and discuss the options. Healthcord is set up with the latest state-of-the art laboratory and all CD34+ cell analysis is done directly by Healthcord upon receipt of the cord blood sample. Thus, Healthcord is able to determine how much stem cells are present in the sample. If the stem cell concentration is high, then it does not matter if the volume of the cord blood is low. Also, with advancing technology, scientists may in the future be able to amplify low quantities of stem cells, so the volume of cord blood collected may not be an important factor for future treatment.

Is the collection process safe for the child and mother?

The collection process takes place after the child is delivered and the umbilical cord is cut, so the cord blood collection procedure is absolutely safe for both the mother and the child.

What if the child is delivered by C-section?

The cord blood can be collected even if the child is delivered by C-section. This procedure is safe for both the mother and the child. Full protocols and supplies for vaginal and C-section delivery are included in all Healthcord Cord Blood Collection Kits.

Shipping Cord Blood

What if I do not live in Canada?

Healthcord is able to efficiently process and store cord blood from clients from outside of Canada.

How is my baby’s cord blood sample delivered to Healthcord?

Your Cord Blood Collection Kit will include all the necessary information you require to ship your cord blood to Healthcord in the required time-frame.  Healthcord typically offers several options for shipping, and you can choose the price and convenience level that suits your family.  If you have any specific questions about shipping, a Healthcord representative will be glad to help you. The Healthcord lab is operational 365 days a year to ensure that your sample is stored in the best possible condition.

Will I be notified when my child’s sample has arrived at Healthcord?

Yes, upon completion of processing, an e-mail will be sent from Healthcord to your specified e-mail address. Healthcord will issue a formal report with your test results and a certificate for your baby’s paediatric records.

Cord Blood – Processing & Storage

Will the blood be tested for infectious diseases and what types of diseases are tested?

Healthcord tests for all required infectious diseases. Healthcord furthermore takes the extra measure of testing for all cord blood collections. This ensures the highest quality of cord blood samples. The cord blood is tested for the following panel of infectious diseases:

  • anti-HIV1/2
  • Anti_HTLV
  • HbsAg
  • anti-HBc
  • anti_HCV
  • syphilis
  • CMV

Does Healthcord accept transfers of cord blood currently stored with other cord blood banking companies?

Yes, Healthcord is able to accept cord blood which is currently stored with other cord blood banking companies. Please contact Healthcord directly to make arrangements for the transfer.

What happens after the cord blood is received?

Immediately after the cord blood is received it is processed for long term storage. The cord blood is volume reduced to isolate the stem cells and to remove the plasma and red blood cells. The sterility of the sample is tested and the maternal sample is tested for infectious diseases. The sample is then cryogenically frozen and cryogenically stored and preserved for long term preservation.

Will I receive confirmation that my child’s cord blood has been banked successfully?

Yes, once your child’s cord blood is successfully banked, you will be notified by a Healthcord representative. You will also receive a certificate indicating the successful storage and banking of your child’s sample. The certificate will include the stem cell quantity and storage conditions.

How long will be the cells be viable after collection?

After collection, the cells are viable 48 hours at room temperature. Healthcord requires approximately 4 hours to process the cord blood for storage, so it is pertinent that the cord blood be received by Healthcord within 44 hours of collection.

Why is Healthcord’s process so streamlined?

Healthcord’s Quality System and state-of-the-art equipment make us an industry leader in the field of cryogenic technology. Healthcord’s fully equipped laboratory and testing facility is capable of processing and performing all key components of the procedure in house. This ensures the highest level of Quality Control and the fastest and most efficient processing. Healthcord is one of the only private banking facilities in Western Canada to be founded by doctoral Ph.D scientists, ensuring the highest level of quality and the latest technology for your peace of mind.

How long can cord blood be stored and still be effective?

Studies have demonstrated that cryogenically frozen stem cells retain their viability following fifteen years of cryogenic storage. Extrapolation based upon a half-life model suggests that stem cells can be cryopreserved for the lifespan of a patient.

How secure will the stored stem cells be?

Healthcord’s cryogenic facility is fully equipped with the latest state-of-the-art cryogenic equipment. The laboratory is alarmed and the cryogenic storage equipment are monitored and alarmed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Back-up systems are also in place. Healthcord’s strict quality control protocols and policies exceed AABB requirements, ensuring the highest level of security for your child’s cord blood.

What should I do if my family is moving?

If you move or change your address, please notify Healthcord so that your file can be updated with your latest contact information. It doesn’t matter where you move, even if it is overseas, Healthcord will still be able to securely bank your sample and release it to you immediately upon request.

Cord Blood – Application & Use

How do we retrieve the cord blood if our child needs it in the future?

You may access the stored cord blood at any time upon request, together with your requesting physician. When the cord blood becomes required for transplantation or treatment, arrangements can be made to have the cord blood shipped to you anywhere in the world. The cord blood will be shipped under controlled conditions to ensure that it remains fully viable and ready for immediate use.

Is there any cost to retrieving my baby’s stem cells?

No, Healthcord does not charge when you retrieve your baby’s stem cells.

Registering with Healthcord

When should I register with Healthcord?

You may register with Healthcord at any time during your pregnancy. It is highly advisable to register at least a few months prior to your delivery date to ensure that you are properly set up in the event that the deliver occurs earlier than expected. Once you register with Healthcord, you will receive a Healthcord Cord Blood Kit within 48 hours. The kit contains everything you need to proceed, and must be brought with you to the hospital during your delivery.

How do I register with Healthcord?

You may register quickly and easily with Healthcord by one of the following:

How much does it cost to save my baby’s cord blood stem cells?

Healthcord offers a panel of plans and payment options for its cord blood banking services to suit your needs. Click here to view Healthcord’s pricing.

What if I am having multiple births (twins, triplets, etc.)?

Healthcord can bank the cord blood from more than one child for situations involving multiple births.

What if I am planning on banking cord blood from more than one child? Is this necessary?

Yes. Your child’s cord blood will be a perfect match to himself/herself, but may or may not match a sibling. By banking the cord blood of each child, you will have the peace of mind in knowing that each child will have his/her own cord blood stem cells which will definitely be a perfect match to that child.

Health Questionnaire

When must I send this in?

Complete Part A of the Health Questionnaire (HQ) at your earliest convenience, ideally before you give birth. Bring the HQ to your doctor at one of your final appointments before delivery (within one month of your expected due date) and ask your doctor to complete Part B (note that some doctors may charge an additional amount for completing forms). After giving birth, sign and date Part A after verifying that your health status did not change.

If I have multiple accounts, can I combine them so that I can pay them together?

Yes, if you have more than one account with us, you can contact us to help you create a master account. We can also help you to consolidate the payments for all of the accounts into one invoice.

Additional Questions

I have already banked my child’s cord blood with Healthcord and am expecting another child. Will the children share the same account, or will they have separate ones?

You will receive a second account once you bank another child’s cord blood with us. Healthcord will be able to consolidate the accounts into a single master account, but each account will remain separate. This is especially important once the children reach the age of maturity as the cord blood will then belong to each child.

In the event that we need to use our child’s banked cord blood, how do we retrieve it?

You may retrieve your child’s cord blood quickly and easily at any time by contacting Healthcord. Healthcord will immediately provide you with a release form. Simply sign the form and indicate the physician and hospital name and address that you would like us to send your cord blood unit. Healthcord and the hospital will work out all of the details to have your cord blood quickly transferred for immediate use.

Is there any cost to retrieving my child’s cord blood?

Healthcord does not charge for any of the preparations involved in releasing your child’s cord blood. You will only be charged for the shipping expenses for transporting the cord blood unit to the hospital.

Healthcord CryogenicsClose